Live Green! Leadership Team

We are excited to introduce the 2020-2021 Live Green! Leadership Team. Together, we are committed to providing education, engagement and empowerment opportunities to make Iowa State University as green and sustainable as possible for all students, faculty and staff. Please contact us with your ideas and questions, or sign up for our e-mail list to stay in the loop with announcements, volunteer opportunities and more. We look forward to working with you!

E-mail: livegreen@iastate.edu
 

Director of Sustainability

Merry Rankin

Alumna Class of 1987 and 1998
Hometown: Attica, IA
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
“If they don’t give you a seat at the table, bring a folding chair.” - Shirley Chisholm

Contact:

Merry Rankin, Director of Sustainability
Iowa State University
700 Wallace Road
108 General Services Building
Ames, IA 50011-4013
515-294-5052 Office
515-294-4593 Fax
mrankin@iastate.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student Intern Leadership Team

Hannah Bartel

Sustainability Coordinator
Graduate Student in Architecture
Hometown: Iowa City, IA
Email: hrbartel@iastate.edu
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
“A rose started off a bud, a bird started off
an egg, and a forest started off a seed.” 
- Matshona Dhliwayo
 

McKenzie Davison

Marketing and Communications Intern
Junior in Agriculture Studies
Hometown: Geneseo, IL
Email: davisonm@iastate.edu
 
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
“The secret to change is to focus all of your
energy, not on fighting the old, but on
building the new” -  Socrates
 

Amanda Fortman

Marketing and Communications Intern
Senior in Agriculture Communications and
Global Resource Systems
Hometown:Manchester, IA
Email: afortman@iastate.edu
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
"Let's make planet Earth our church and protecting
it our religion." - Larry and Emily Gottschamer
 

Edgar Guillen

Ames Smart Business Challenge Intern 
Senior in Marketing and Management
Hometown: Plano, IL
Email: eguillen@iastate.edu
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
“Just because the sky goes dark, doesn’t
mean you have to stop your journey.”
- Hijeneo Guillen (Edgar's grandfather)
 

Caitlin Tipping

Campus and Community Engagement Intern
Senior in Global Resource Systems,
Environmental Studies & Sociology
Hometown: Urbandale, IA
Email: ctipping@iastate.edu
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
"He that plants trees loves others besides himself."
- Thomas Fuller
 

Pedro Vieira-Marasciulo

Social Media Engagement Intern
Senior in Marketing & Economics
Hometown: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Email: pedro98@iastate.edu
Favorite Sustainability Quote:
"As consumers, we have so much power to change the world by just being careful in what we buy" - Emma Watson